mara by Marabu – how to use the homepage for little craft enthusiasts

There is a lot to discover on the website mara.marabu.com or www.marabu.com/mara: craft ideas, colouring and cutting templates, fun puzzles and a story book and audio book. New content is added every month.

The cartoon character “Mara” shows you her colourful world of creative design by accompanying you on every (sub)page of the homepage. This shows you that you are (still) on the right website and did not click on the wrong thing.

The “Navigation” at the top helps you to move through the individual areas of the homepage, such as “Painting”, “Crafts”, “Games” or “Reading”. If you want to find out more about the individual products or the company, click on “Products” or “Company”. “Kids for Kids” has craft ideas for you to try. The main window below shows an animated image gallery. It provides inspiration for new craft ideas that you can try together with your family. Then there are more windows with information about various content, e.g. new products, video, audio book, colouring templates or fun puzzles. The footer below the main window provides useful information, for example a contact address if you have any questions.

Just have a good look around. Have fun browsing!

Are you having problems with the new mara homepage? Here are answers to some frequently asked questions:

How do I start downloads?

Some pages contain so-called downloads. Those are files that you can download to your computer. Just click on the download arrow that appears in the main window when you move your mouse pointer over it or on Download in the grey window on the right. If the download does not start, you might need an additional program: Adobe Acrobat Reader. It can be downloaded free of charge here: http://get.adobe.com/de/reader/. Let an adult help you with installing the program.

How do I watch a video?

The mara homepage also contains videos. If you cannot see or play these, you may need an additional program, like for the downloads. In this case: Adobe Flash. It can be downloaded free of charge here: http://get.adobe.com/de/flashplayer/. Please let an adult help you with installing the program.

Why should JavaScript be activated in my browser?

JavaScript is a programming language. It allows small programs to be built into websites which are then executed within the browser on the user’s computer. The actual program commands are not dangerous, but unfortunately JavaScript allows other security gaps to be exploited. JavaScript also controls many functions for games, animations and videos on the mara homepage. JavaScript should always be turned on in order for a website to work without problems.
JavaScript can be turned on and off in a browser. Here is how to do it:

  • In Internet Explorer, in the top bar click on “Tools” → “Internet options” → “Security”. Set the security to “medium”.
  • In Firefox, in the top bar click on “Tools” → “Settings” → “Content”. Deactivate JavaScript there.

Which browser should I use?

The mara website works with all current standard browsers:
Microsoft® Internet-Explorer from version 9
Firefox from version 2.0
Opera from version 8.0
Safari from version 2.0

If you have any more questions or if you need help, please send a short email to: mara@marabu.com.

mara by Marabu – So funktioniert die Homepage für kleine Bastelfreunde

Auf der Website mara.marabu.com bzw. www.marabu.com/mara gibt es viel zu entdecken: Bastelideen, Mal- und Schneidevorlagen, Rätselspaß sowie eine Bilder- und Hörbuchgeschichte.

Die Cartoon-Figur “Mara” zeigt Dir ihre bunte Welt des kreativen Gestaltens, indem sie Dich auf jede (Unter-)Seite der Homepage begleitet. So weißt Du, dass Du immer (noch) auf der richtigen Website surfst und Dich nicht versehentlich verklickt hast.

Mithilfe der obigen “Navigation” steuerst Du durch die einzelnen Bereiche der Homepage wie “Malen”, “Basteln”, “Spielen” oder “Lesen”. Wenn Du näheres über die einzelnen Produkte oder das Unternehmen wissen möchtest, klickst Du auf “Produkte” oder “Unternehmen”. Unter “Von Kids für Kids” entdeckst Du Bastelideen zum Nachmachen. Im Hauptfenster darunter erscheint eine animierte Bildergalerie. Sie soll Dich zu neuen Bastelideen, die Du mit Deiner Familie ausprobierst, inspirieren. Es folgen weitere Fenster, die über verschiedene Inhalte wie z.B. Neuheiten, Video, Hörbuch, Malvorlagen oder Rätselspaß informieren. In der Fussleiste unter dem Hauptfenster findest Du nützliche Informationen, beispielsweise einen Kontakt, wenn es Deinerseits Fragen gibt.

Schau` Dich einfach in Ruhe um. Viel Spaß beim Stöbern!

 

 

Du hast Probleme mit der mara Homepage? Hier gibt Antworten auf einige häufig gestellte Fragen:

 

Wie startest Du Downloads?

Auf einigen Seiten findest Du sog. “Downloads”. Das sind Dateien, die Du auf deinen Computer herunterladen kannst. Klicke dazu einfach auf den Download-Pfeil, der im Hauptfenster erscheint, wenn Du den Mauszeiger darüber bewegst oder auf Download im grauen Fenster rechts. Startet der Download nicht, brauchst Du ein zusätzliches Programm: Adobe Acrobat Reader. Das kannst du kostenlos herunterladen unter: http://get.adobe.com/de/reader/. Lass` Dir bei der Installation des Programms von einem Erwachsenen helfen.

 

Wie siehst Du Dir Videos an?

Auf der mara Homepage findest Du auch Videos. Wenn Du diese nicht sehen oder abspielen kannst, brauchst Du wie für die Downloads ein zusätzliches Programm. Hierfür: Adobe Flash. Das kannst Du kostenlos herunterladen unter: http://get.adobe.com/de/flashplayer/. Lass` Dir bitte bei der Installation des Programms von einem Erwachsenen helfen.

 

Warum sollte JavaScript in Deinem Browser aktiviert sein?

Javascript ist eine Programmiersprache. Sie ermöglicht, in Webseiten kleine Programme einzubauen, die dann auf dem Computer des Benutzers innerhalb des Browsers ausgeführt werden. Die Programmbefehle selbst sind nicht gefährlich, aber Javascript erleichtert leider auch das Ausnutzen von anderen Sicherheitslücken. Auch auf der mara Homepage steuert JavaScript viele Funktionen für Spiele, Animationen und auch die Videos. Damit die Webseite problemlos funktioniert, sollte Javascript immer eingeschaltet sein.
JavaScript lässt sich in einem Browser ein- oder ausschalten. Und das wird so gemacht:

  • Beim Internet-Explorer klickst Du oben in der Leiste auf “Extras” → “Internetoptionen”→ “Sicherheit”. Stelle die Sicherheitsstufe auf “Mittelhoch”.
  • Bei Firefox klickst Du oben in der Leiste auf “Extras” → “Einstellungen” → “Inhalt”. Aktiviere dort Javascript.

 

Welchen Browser solltest Du benutzen?

Die mara Webseite funktioniert mit allen gängigen, aktuellen Browsern:
Microsoft® Internet-Explorer ab Version 9
Firefox ab Version 2.0
Opera ab Version 8.0
Safari ab Version 2.0

 

Solltest Du weitere Fragen haben oder Hilfe benötigen, wende Dich auch gern mit einer kurzen E-Mail an: mara@marabu.com.